Do the right thing and get it wrong (according to some folk)

Standard

I don’t often write on here but I have been seething all night and somehow I have to get the anger out before I punch someone.  What upsets me so (tonight anyway)… Modern justice, cruelty to animals vs ‘cruelty’ to a minor.

Let me explain.  Tonight, upon returning from work with my husband, we reversed the car onto the driveway and sat chatting before the onslaught of doggy waggles, cat meows, teen yapping and so on that awaited us behind or closed door.  It’s dark – gone 5pm British (GMT) winter time.  It was then it happened and I could not contain my rage.

Not 20 feet away a little ‘urchin’ of about 10 years – who had already raised the anger buds by trying to play chicken with the car as we drove up – saw a neighbours small cat come from under the hedge. A lovely little white and grey female.  AAAH say the animal lovers.  SO what say the non animal lovers.  What happened next was that said urchin thought it very amusing to call the cat (friendly with children by nature of environment).  When the cat stopped and turned to him he kicked his football so hard it hit the cat in the head and then laughed to his friends “HAHA Did you see that?”.  The cat ran off and hopefully was nothing more than stunned.  I was furious!!!

I got out of the car, husband started unpacking the car.  I walked towards urchin and friends and he gave me some verbal (as he always does).  I ignored that and said gently “come here please.”  He did so.  I hooked my finger under his collar as I knew he would run as soon as he realised he was in for a telling.  I quietly and calmly asked “Would you like it if I kicked a ball into the side of your head?”.  “No!” he replied rather cockily.  “Well don’t EVER let me see you do that to a cat, or other animal again.” I growled.  I then unhooked my finger (and it was my little finger so he could have ran if he wanted – but didn’t..).  I walked home, looked at the cat as I went by and she seemed none the worse for wear – THIS TIME.

Within less than 5 minutes, me still steaming, there was a knock at the door and a female – not the urchins mum – asked me why I had belted the boy?  Ha! lies too.  I said I hadn’t, and I said I had chastised him for kicking the ball at the cat.  “OH, if I thought he’d hurt an animal I would have done something but he swears he did nothing, you just attacked him.”

I pointed out that for one why would I do such a thing for no reason? Two, why would I accuse him of something so random if it  didn’t happen.  And then husband backed me by saying he sat in the car with me and we saw the whole thing.  So she said she would tell his parents and off they went.

Then, I went out with my two dogs for the evening walk, a male approached me with urchin in tow.  Father I presumed.  He accused me of belting his son and said I had no right and he had a good mind to thrash me.  Woah!

Said son starting calling me a bitch and said he never kicked the ball at the cat, it rolled there from about “this much away” (about a foot.).  Firstly I looked right at the boy and said “Stop being disrespectful.  I’m an adult you know, you do not call me names”.  Then I said the same to the father but if he wished to believe that his son was telling the truth and that I lied about the cat, the ball and the discussion then by all means have a swing.  He didn’t, instead he threatened some more about getting me done for child abuse, got in his car and drove off at a speed unhealthy to be driving at in a 30 zone. (Caring parent with child in car remember).

That however, wasn’t the end of it.  Mum came to the door threatening police action for beating her son over the ball rolling across the road.  By this time I had seriously had enough.  I told her the truth, after all she had heard her sons’ version from her partner.  She looked at said urchin who finally admitted he’d kicked the ball at the cat  “but didn’t mean it”.  I apologised if she had thought I hit her son but that too was a lie.  He grinned.  She did say she would have dealt with it had she been told.. maybe she would, she seemed a nice kinda woman under the anger – but she also said he’d been belted for lying and that did not loo like a boy that had been remotely told off.  Ho hum, apparently not my problem and if the cat was injured that wasn’t either – so I hope she’snot – or my neighbour at the very least will have expensive vets fees and no idea why – as why should I ell her and get involved any more?

Harrassment from 3 adults and me calming down meant I apologised just to shut them up.

So what message has that given the boy?

He can hurt animals.  He will get away with it and he will get other people into trouble but he doesn’t have to care.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

One thought on “Do the right thing and get it wrong (according to some folk)

  1. Certain parts of the world it’s probably best to just write it off, let the better parts eventually overpower it… or the other way round, either way is fine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

